The Sundance Film Festival unveiled the winners of its 2022 edition on Friday. Like the rest of this year’s festival, which was forced to go entirely virtual due to Omicron’s recent push, the awards ceremony will unfolded on Twitter, with honors spread across the diverse lineup unlike last year, when CODA won top honors.

Nikyatu Jusu Nanny won the American Drama Competition Grand Jury Prize, while the American Documentary Grand Jury Prize went to The exiled directed by Ben Klein and Violet Columbus. The Marquee Audience Awards went to Apple’s big sales recovery Cha Cha real smoothand the surprise documentary in secret screening Navalny, which won both the Audience Award in the US Doc section as well as the Festival Favorite Award omnibus.

Winners were announced in the US Dramatic, US Documentary, World Dramatic and World Documentary competitions as well as in the Next and Short Film sidebars. Audience Prize, Grand Jury and Special Jury Prizes were awarded. See the full list of winners below.

Best American Winner Nanny, a horror thriller, centers on Aisha (Anna Diop), an immigrant building a new life in New York while caring for the child of an Upper East Side family. She is forced to confront a hidden truth that threatens to shatter her fragile American dream. Michelle Monaghan and Sinqua Walls are also playing.

“For this Grand Jury Prize, we celebrate a film that inundated us with its compassionate and horrifying portrayal of a mother separated from her child,” Sundance juror Chelsea Bernard said during the virtual ceremony. “This film cannot be contained in one genre – it is visually stunning, masterfully acted, impeccably crafted from sound to visual effects, and the overall vision, expertly guided by Nikyatu Jusu, combines to provide its audience with a electrifying.”

The exiled revolves around activist and documentary filmmaker Christine Choy, who filmed the leaders of the democracy movement in Tiananmen Square during the 1989 massacre. Halfway through production, the project was scrapped and the footage was all but forgotten. In Exilesit looks back at unpublished archives and the stories of three key figures in the protests, who remain political exiles to this day.

Navalny, meanwhile, is a documentary thriller directed by Daniel Roher hailing from CNN Films and HBO Max. This focuses on Russian opposition leader and anti-corruption campaigner Alexei Navalny, who gave Roher unprecedented access to himself and those around him as he recovered from poisoning and decided to return home.

Other notable winners tonight include a World Theater Competition Grand Jury Prize for Alejandro Loayza Grisi utama from Bolivia, one of Deadline’s Todd McCarthy festival raves (read his review here). Finland girl picture won the audience award in this section.

The Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award in the US Dramatic section went to KD Dávila for his comedy thriller Emergency, while Jamie Dack won the director’s award in this section for Palm trees and power lines.

Last year’s awards confirmed the good faith of CODA, which starred in the US Dramatic Competition and was scooped up by Apple in a record-breaking $25 million deal. This photo, directed by Siân Heder, also won the festival’s awards night, winning four trophies in all, including the audience award, the director’s award, the grand jury award and a special prize from the jury for the whole. It’s now an Oscar favorite.

This year’s real-life drama 892 won the American Ensemble Award in Composition from a cast led by John Boyega, Nicole Beharie, Selenis Leyva, Connie Britton, Olivia Washington, London Covington and the late Michael K Williams.

Overall, this year’s class was harder to gauge, with acquisition activity somewhat muted and in-person reactions to Park City screenings not a factor. Yet Deadline broke big deals led again by Apple, which paid $15 million for worldwide rights to Raiff’s Cha Cha real smooth.

In other market-leading deals, Searchlight Pictures has secured an approximately $7.5 million deal for the U.S. rights to Good luck to you, Leo Grandestarring Emma Thompson and Daryl McCormack, while Sony Pictures Classics paid around $5 million for the North American and international rights to the Bill Nighy star Life.

On the documentary side, National Geographic took over fire of love in a seven-figure global rights deal, then followed by acquiring The territory. This latest photo won an Audience Award tonight in the World Documentary range as well as a Special Jury Prize for Documentary Craftsmanship given to director Alex Pritz.

Here is the full list of winners. Click on the title to read the Deadline review if available.


Director: Daniel Roher


Audience Award

Cha Cha real smooth
Director-Screenwriter: Cooper Raiff

Grand Jury Prize

Director-Screenwriter: Nikyatu Jusu


Jamie Dak
Palm trees and power lines

Waldo Salt Screenplay Award

KD Davila

Special Jury Prize: Ensemble Cast

John Boyega, Nicole Beharie, Selenis Leyva, Connie Britton, Olivia Washington, London Covington and Michael K Williams

Special Jury Prize: Artistic Vision Without Compromise

Bradley Rust Gray
some blood


Audience Award

Director: Daniel Roher

Grand Jury Prize

The exiled (WE)
Directors: Ben Klein, Violet Columbus


Reid Davenport
I didn’t see you there

Jonathan Oppenheim Publishing Award

Erin Casper and Jocelyne Chaput
fire of love

Special Jury Prize: Impact for Change

Directors: Paula Eiselt, Tonya Lewis Lee

Special Jury Prize: Creative Vision

Director: Margaret Brown


Audience Award

The territory (Brazil/Denmark/USA)

Grand Jury Prize

anything that breathes (India/UK)
Director: Shaunak Sen


Simon Lereng Wilmont
A house made of shards (Denmark)

Special Jury Prize: Documentary Craftsmanship

The territory (Brazil/Denmark/USA)
Director: Alex Pritz

Special Jury Prize: Excellence In Verité Filmmaking

Midwives (Burma)
Director: Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing


Audience Award

girl picture (Finland)
Director: Alli Haapasalo

Grand Jury Prize

Utama (Bolvia/Uruguay/France)
Director-Screenwriter: Alejandro Loayza Grisi


Maryna Er Gorbach
Klondike (Ukraine/Turkey)

Special Jury Prize: Innovative Spirit

Leonor will never die (Philippines)
Director-Screenwriter: Martika Ramirez Escobar

Special Jury Prize: Acting

Teresa Sanchez
Dos Estaciones (Mexico)


Audience Award

Framing Agnes (Canada/USA)
Director: Chase Joynt


Grand Jury Prize

The Headhunter’s Daughter (Philippines)
Director-Screenwriter: Don Josephus Raphael Eblahan

Jury Prize: US Fiction

If I leave will they miss me (WE)
Director-screenwriter: Walter Thompson-Hernández

Jury Prize: International Fiction

Warsha (France/Lebanon)
Director-screenwriter: Dania Bdeir

Jury Prize: Non-Fiction

Moved (Kosovo)
Director-screenwriter: Samir Karahoda

Jury Prize: Animation

Night bus (Taiwan)
Director-screenwriter: Joe Hsieh

Special Jury Prize: Ensemble Cast

Zelia Duncan, Bruna Linzmeyer, Camila Rocha, Clarissa Ribeiro and Lorre Motta
Wild patience brought me here (Brazil)
Director-screenwriter: Érica Sarmet

Special Jury Prize: Screenplay

Sarah Driver
Stranger Than Rotterdam with Sara Driver (WE)
Directors: Lewie Kloster, Noah Kloster; Screenwriter: Sara Driver


Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Award

After Yang

Sundance Institute | Amazon Studios Producer Award for Non-Fiction

Su Kim, Free Chol Soo Lee (American Documentary Competition)

Sundance Institute | Amazon Studios Producers Award for Fiction

Amanda Marshall, God’s country (Firsts)

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Nonfiction Publishing

Toby Shimin

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Fiction Editing

Dody Dorn

Sundance Institute | NHK price

Hassan Hadi, The President’s Cake